Cerro Coso Community College

Board Receives Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction

Board Receives Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction

Jill Board, president of Cerro Coso Community College, was one of only 18 college presidents in the nation to receive the 2017 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction at the PTK Catalyst 2017, Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, this month.

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award based on outstanding efforts in promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa at their institutions. Nominees must have served as president at least five years at the current institution and demonstrated a strong level of support of Phi Theta Kappa during their tenure.

Board became the 8th President of Cerro Coso Community College in 2010, and the 3rd woman in a row to hold the position. A strong proponent of education with almost 30 years of community college background and experiences, Board’s commitment to serving students and enriching their college experiences has spanned her entire career.

The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, the organization’s longest-serving board of director’s chair. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984. Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for community colleges.

Founded in 1918 to give prestigious recognition to students with excellent scholarship and character, Phi Theta Kappa has always maintained fidelity to its founders’ commitment to provide enrichment in four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship. Phi Theta Kappa feature some of the nation’s finest educational programs for community college students.