Cerro Coso Community College

Phi Theta Kappa Appoints Jill Board to Presidential Advisory Board

President Board

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is pleased to announce the appointment of Jill Board, President of Cerro Coso Community College in California, to the Phi Theta Kappa Presidential Advisory Board. President Board will join 35 other college presidents from across the nation who serve on Phi Theta Kappa’s Presidential Advisory Board to provide input into the organization’s strategic plan, priorities and direction.

Advisory Board members advocate for Phi Theta Kappa, its members, and its mission; serve as liaisons between Phi Theta Kappa headquarters and the college leaders in their states; and advise Phi Theta Kappa’s CEO and other senior leaders.

President Board is a recipient of the 2017 Shirley B. Gordon Award, which honors college presidents who provide extraordinary support to Phi Theta Kappa. She attends her chapter’s induction ceremonies and provides funding for them to attend national and regional conferences. In addition, she has added a second faculty advisor to help members achieve their goal of becoming a Five Star Chapter.

President Board became Cerro Coso Community College’s eighth president in July of 2010. She holds a Master’s Degree in counselor education from California State University, San Bernardino, and a Bachelor’s Degree in music education from Pacific Lutheran University in Parkland, Washington.

Before becoming president, she had served Cerro Coso Community College for 20 years in various leadership roles, including Vice President of Student Services.

President Board serves on the Boards of Directors for the Central Valley Higher Education Committee, the China Lake Alliance, and Desert Valley Federal Credit Union. In 2015 she received the Woman of the Year Award of Appreciation for her outstanding and continued service to the Ridgecrest Community from the local chapter of Beta Sigma Phi International.

Currently President Board is serving on the American Association of Community Colleges Commission on Academic, Student, and Community Development. She is also a regular participant on evaluation teams for the Western Association of Schools and Colleges and the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.